Valentine’s Day: Relationship Edition

By: Julia F

vday articleOh, Valentine’s Day. The day I usually dread, but this year it’s all a little different. Being in a relationship on Valentine’s Day is like waking up on Christmas morning. You’re just so excited. Girls love planning what to get their valentine and where they should go for dinner on Valentine’s Day.

Usually on Valentine’s day I get a gift from my mom and maybe exchange some candy with my friends, but this year will be different. I won’t be pretending to proudly put my hands up as a single lady chanting to Beyoncé. Instead, my boyfriend and I plan to go to the aquarium and out for a nice dinner in Boston.

Instead of worrying about being single on a day no one wants to be single, I will be worrying about what to get my boyfriend for this exciting day. Guys can easily pick from a selection of jewelry, flowers, chocolate or even a large stuffed bear, but what does the girl get a guy?…??? I’m honestly lost. Let’s be honest, Valentine’s Day is usually all about doting on your girlfriend, so buying for a guy gets tricky. Valentine’s Day gifts shouldn’t be as expensive as a Christmas or birthday gift…right?

After some long, hard thinking, any girl can find a fun gift to give her boyfriend. Good gift ideas for any boy in your life could be sunglasses, a wallet, or cologne. Or if you know enough about his hobbies, try finding something that will interest him, such as tickets to see his favorite team, or a concert he’s dying to go to.

If exchanging gifts on Valentine’s Day isn’t your thing, then you can always plan a fun date. Valentine’s Day is on a Sunday this year so if you’re extra excited, you can plan a whole weekend of activities! Or if you’d rather keep it simple, there’s always the movies, dinner, or a trip into the city to visit the New England Aquarium, Museum of Fine Arts or out for some fine dining. My personal favorite would be to go to Max Brenners, a restaurant on Boylston known for their chocolate bar.

In the end it doesn’t matter what you get each other. Just like every other holiday, it’s the thought that counts. My advice to girls in relationships this holiday, is to enjoy the time you have with your guy and just have fun.

What do you think?